Westfalia.org Community - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Suburu Conversions

Default Suburu Conversions

jonc Junior Member posted 05-24-2000 04:44 PM

Kennedy Engineered Products has a kit and detailed instructions for installing a Subaru Legacy engine into any Westfalia.. the Model year of the engines is 90 to 94...the computers in the newer years are too complicated... You must get the engine the computer and the complete wiring harness to make it work but the system is recommended by other VW owners...
    Has anyone on the Westy homepage group any experiance with this conversion or know someone who has??/

Please Advise
    Last edited by Capt. Mike; 11-25-2008 at 05:26 AM.

2. # ADS
    Adsense Circuit advertisement

I've no experience on this engine conversion, but the one owner I've met who did so claimes it has screwed up his drive train (cause unknown) and he can't seem to keep it running long between high-dollar drive train repairs.

The local dealer, who is both VW & Suburu, won't work on it, so it must be a real sweetheart.
    Last edited by Capt. Mike; 11-27-2008 at 07:08 AM.

I have an '85 Westy with the Subaru conversion. The '92 Legacy engine just passed CA smog, no problem. The engine is very reliable, with a noticeable improvement in power. The only disappointment I've had is the KEP kit. The flex plate is the part that connects the Subaru engine to the VW tranny. I have replaced this part 3 times in two years. I am now putting in a 4th flex plate, custom made from Kennedy. Has anyone else experienced this problem? The Torque Converter was rebuilt the first time this problem occured. When the flex plate cracks, it causes a ticking sound like a noisy valve after the car has been driven for 10-20 minutes. The noise gets louder over time.